

International Association of Hydrogeologists

Information about the changes in constitution of Polish National Committee of IAH

According to the proposal of some changes in current constitution of Polish National Committee (expressed by management committee at the meeting on 29th June 2013) the online voting system was opened on 17th July 2013 and was closed on 1st October 2013. The total number of votes cast was 41 out of 49 members.

The results of voting for particular changes:

- 1. In Art.2, section 1, paragraph C should be cancelled (the Hydrogeological Commission of the Committee of Geological Sciences of the Polish Academy of Sciences currently is not exist) (40 votes),
- 2. In Art.2, section 2: Previously: Ordinary members of the management committee of the Polish National Committee will normally serve for three years term beginning on the day of election. No ordinary members shall serve more than two terms consecutively. Now is: All members of the management committee of the Polish National Committee will normally serve for three years term beginning on the day of election. They can serve for no more than two terms consecutively. (39 votes),
- 3. In Art.2, section 3: Previously: The officers of the management committee shall be a Chairman and a Secretary, who shall be appointed by the Polish National Committee from amongst their membership. The Chairman shall serve for three years term, which is not renewable; the Secretary, if elected, may serve for a further term. Now is: The officers of the management committee shall be a President, Vice President and a Secretary, who shall be appointed by the Polish National Committee from amongst their members. (40 votes),
- 4. In Art.2, section 4: Previously: The Chairman will preside over meetings of the Committee. Now is: The President or Vice President (in case of President's absence) will preside over meetings of the Committee. (40 votes),
- 5. In Art. 3, section 2: Previously: A quorum shall consist of four elected members of the Polish National Committee. Each member of the Committee, whether elected or otherwise, shall have one vote. Decisions will be made by a majority vote with the Chairman having the casting vote if necessary. If a quorum cannot be achieved, business may continue, but the next meeting of the Committee at which there is a quorum must ratify decisions. Now is: A quorum shall consist of four elected members of the Polish National Committee. Each member of the Committee, whether elected or otherwise, shall have one vote. Decisions will be made by a majority vote with the President or Vice President (in case of President's absence) having the casting vote if necessary. If a quorum cannot be achieved, business may continue, but the next meeting of the Committee at which there is a quorum must ratify decisions. (41 votes).

Proposed changes in constitution have been made upon the affirmative vote of two-thirds of the members of the Polish National Committee (according to the constitution).

Full new version of the constitution is attached.